1998 SECOND PROTOCOL AMENDING THE TREATY OF AMITY AND COOPERATION IN SOUTHEAST ASIA

Adopted by the Foreign Ministers at the 31st ASEAN Ministerial Meeting in Manila, Philippines on 25 July 1998

[http://www.aseansec.org/3633.htm]

The Government of Brunei Darussalam

The Government of the Kingdom of Cambodia

The Government of the Republic of Indonesia

The Government of the Lao People's Democratic Republic

The Government of Malaysia

The Government of the Union of Myanmar

The Government of the Republic of the Philippines

The Government of the Republic of Singapore

The Government of the Kingdom of Thailand

The Government of the Socialist Republic of Vietnam

The Government of Papua New Guinea

Hereinafter referred to as the High Contracting Parties:

DESIRING to ensure that there is appropriate enhancement of cooperation with all peace-loving nations, both within and outside Southeast Asia and, in particular, neighboring States of the Southeast Asia region;

CONSIDERING Paragraph 5 of the preamble of the Treaty of Amity and Cooperation in Southeast Asia, done at Denpasar, Bali, on 24 February 1976 (hereinafter referred to as the Treaty of Amity) which refers to the need for cooperation with all peaceloving nations, both within and outside Southeast Asia, in the furtherance of world peace, stability and harmony.

HEREBY AGREE TO THE FOLLOWING:

ARTICLE 1

Article 18, Paragraph 3, of the Treaty of Amity shall be amended to read as follows:

"States outside Southeast Asia may also accede to this Treaty with the consent of all the States in Southeast Asia, namely, Brunei Darussalam, the Kingdom of Cambodia, the Republic of Indonesia, the Lao People's Democratic Republic, Malaysia, the Union of Myanmar, the Republic of the Philippines, the Republic of Singapore, the Kingdom of Thailand and the Socialist Republic of Vietnam."

ARTICLE 2

This Protocol shall be subject to ratification and shall come into force on the date the last instrument of ratification of the High Contracting Parties is deposited.

DONE at Manila, the twenty-fifth day of July in the year one thousand nine hundred and ninety-eight.

For Brunei Darussalam: **PRINCE MOHAMED BOLKIAH**, Minister of Foreign Affairs

For the Kingdom of Cambodia: **CHEM WIDHYA**, Special Envoy of the Royal Government of Cambodia

For the Republic of Indonesia: ALI ALATAS, Minister for Foreign Affairs

For the Lao People's Democratic Republic: **SOMSAVAT LENGSAVAD**, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs

For Malaysia: **DATUK SERI ABDULLAH HAJI AHMAD BADAWI**, Minister of Foreign Affairs

For the Union of Myanmar: U OHN GYAW, Minister of Foreign Affairs

For the Republic of the Philippines: **DOMINGGO L SIAZON**, **JR**., Secretary of Foreign Affairs

For the Republic of Singapore: S. JAYAKUMAR, Minister for Foreign Affairs

For the Kingdom of Thailand: SURIN PITSUWAN, Minister of Foreign Affairs

For the Socialist Republic of Vietnam: **NGUYEN MANH CAM**, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs

For Papua New Guinea: ROY YAKI, Minister of Foreign Affairs