PROTOCOL TO AMEND THE FRAMEWORK AGREEMENTS ON ENCHANCING ASEAN ECONOMIC COOPERATION

Established in Bangkok, Thailand, 15 December 1995

The Sultan of Brunei Darussalam, the President of the Republic of Indonesia, the Prime Minister of Malaysia, the President of the Republic of the Philippines, the Prime Minister of the Republic of Singapore and the Prime Minister of the Kingdom of Thailand:

RECALLING the Framework Agreement on Enhancing ASEAN Economic Cooperation ("the Agreement") signed on 28 January 1992 at the Fourth Summit Meeting held in Singapore;

DESIRING to expedite the implementation of the Common Effective Preferential Tariff (CEPT) Scheme for the ASEAN Free Trade Area (AFTA);

NOTING that Article 1 2A of tile Agreement provides for amendments to it;

HAVE AGREED AS FOLLOWS:

ARTICLE 1

Article 2, section A, paragraph 1 of the Agreement shall be amended by deleting the expression "I5 years" and substituting it with the expression "I0 years (beginning I January 1993)".

ARTICLE 2

The following shall be inserted after Article 1 2 as a new Article 1 2A to the Agreement:

"Accession of New Members

New Members of ASEAN shall accede to the Agreement oil terms and conditions consistent with it and which have been agreed between them and the existing Members of ASEAN.".

ARTICLE 3

This Protocol shall enter into force upon the deposit of instruments of ratification or acceptance by all signatory governments with the Secretary-General of ASEAN which shall be done not later than 1 January 1996.

This Protocol shall be deposited with the Secretary-General of ASEAN, who shall promptly furnish a certified copy thereof to each Member Country.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the undersigned have signed the Protocol to Amend the Framework Agreement on Enhancing ASEAN Economic Cooperation.

DONE at **Bangkok**, this **15th day of December 1995** in a single copy in the English Language.

PROTOCOL TO AMEND THE FRAMEWORK AGREEMENTS ON ENCHANCING ASEAN ECONOMIC COOPERATION

For Brunei Darussalam :	حىالليك
	HAJI HASSANAL BOLKIAH Sultan of Brunei Darussalam
For the Republic of Indonesia :	SOEHARTO President
For Malaysia :	DR MAHATHIR BIN MOHAMAD Prime Minister
For the Republic of the Philippines :	FIDEL V. RAMOS President
For the Republic of Singapore :	GOH CHOK TONG Prime Minister
For the Kingdom of Thailand :	BANHARN SILPA-ARCHA Prime Minister