The Right to Freedom of Assembly in the Euro-Mediterranean Region

A 2013 Regional Study


This 2013 study by the Euro-Mediterranean Human Rights Network examines the legislative framework that enshrines the right to assembly in 13 different countries in the Euro-Mediterranean region and the EU: Algeria, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Palestine, Syria, Tunisia, Turkey, Spain, and the United Kingdom.

The study is based on a process of consultation and participation involving members of the Euro-Mediterranean Human Rights Network, which includes 80 organizations and institutions of human rights defense based in 30 countries as well as individual members. It thus reflects the efforts of researchers recruited for each country, assisted by members of the EMHRN Working Group on Freedom of Association, Assembly and Movement, and the active involvement of civil society organizations, through interviews and in advisory exchanges.