For optimal readability, we highly recommend downloading the document PDF, which you can do below.

Document Information:

  • Year:
  • Country: Kenya
  • Language: English
  • Document Type: Domestic Law or Regulation
  • Topic:

All sovereign power belongs to the people of Kenya and shall be exercised only in accordance with this Constitution.
The people may exercise their sovereign power either directly or through their democratically elected representatives.
Sovereign power under this Constitution is delegated to the following State organs, which shall perform their functions in accordance with this Constitution—
Parliament and the legislative assemblies in the county governments;
the national executive and the executive structures in the county governments; and
the Judiciary and independent tribunals.
The sovereign power of the people is exercised at— the national level; and the county level.
This Constitution is the supreme law of the Republic and binds all persons and all State organs at both levels of government.
No person may claim or exercise State authority except as authorised under this Constitution.
The validity or legality of this Constitution is not subject to challenge by or before any court or other State organ.
Any law, including customary law, that is inconsistent with this Constitution is void to the extent of the inconsistency, and any act or omission in contravention of this Constitution is invalid.
The general rules of international law shall form part of the law of Kenya.
Any treaty or convention ratified by Kenya shall form part of the law of Kenya under this Constitution.
Every person has an obligation to respect, uphold and defend this Constitution.
Any attempt to establish a government otherwise than in compliance with this Constitution is unlawful.
Kenya is a sovereign Republic.
The Republic of Kenya shall be a multi-party democratic State founded on the national values and principles of governance referred to in Article 10.
Kenya consists of the territory and territorial waters comprising Kenya on the effective date, and any additional territory and territorial waters as defined by an Act of Parliament.
The territory of Kenya is divided into the counties specified in the First Schedule.
The governments at the national and county levels are distinct and inter-dependent and shall conduct their mutual relations on the basis of consultation and cooperation.
A national State organ shall ensure reasonable access to its services in all parts of the Republic, so far as it is appropriate to do so having regard to the nature of the service.